WHAT IS A PARISH COUNCIL

Englishcombe Parish Council is both a corporate and a statutory body, established under the Parish Councils Act 1957. It exists to act on behalf of the parish community it serves, which consists of all residents of Englishcombe village, Inglesbatch, Nailwell, Kilkenny, Haycombe, Padleigh and Barrow Hamlet.

The parish council duties include:

- the evaluation of local planning applications
- working with the local police, district council officers and neighbourhood watch groups on matters of crime, security and traffic
- initiating projects for the establishment, maintenance and repair of parish facilities, such as a village hall or community centre, nature parks, rural footpaths and byways, playing fields and playgrounds
- consulting with the district council on the maintenance, repair and improvement of highways, drainage, footpaths, public transport, and street cleaning
- co-ordinating a community approach to conservation matters (including trees and listed buildings) and environmental issues
- setting an annual precept (local rate) to cover the council's operating costs and producing annual accounts for public scrutiny.

The parish falls within, but is independent from, the unitary authority of Bath and North East Somerset (B&NES), which was created in 1996 following enactment of the Local Government Act 1992. It falls within Bathavon West Ward.

The parish is represented in the House of Commons as part of North East Somerset, which elects one Member of Parliament (MP) by the first past the post system of election. It is also part of the South West England constituency of the European Parliament which elects seven MEPs using the d'Hondt method of party-list proportional representation.